Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

There are so many things in life that are beneficial for us but all we really need is Christ. Doesn’t seem that complicated does it? But why oh why do we make it so dang complicated?! Human nature I suppose.

I had a rather beneficial weekend, not in terms of food (although I was on track with my Weight Watchers points). Friday was rather mundane, took a painkiller for the pinched nerve and called it a night relatively early. Saturday I texted my ex (as we have been talking again) to wish him a happy birthday, he responded and was nice…..a little too nice. So I lurked on his Facebook page to find posts from his new girlfriend. I immediately logged off Facebook and deleted him out of my phone. It was probably the most beneficial thing I could have done all weekend!

That simple task of deleting him made me decide to partake in a “color” 5k in August, create a gym schedule for the week, buy/wear red lipstick (talk about empowering!), and just really made me recommit to living life. I felt so incredibly empowered after doing it, I was on some sort of emotional high the rest of the weekend.

Know what else is beneficial? Going to the gym. I did around noon today, I didn’t want to because it felt like my head was going to explode but I got on my gym clothes, laced up my hot pink shoes and hopped onto the treadmill. I didn’t go fast or far but I did it. When I wanted to quit because my legs were burning I prayed, then attempted to hide the dance moves I was doing while listening to “Single Ladies” on my iPod (why the heck are there SO many mirrors at the gym?!?!?). Dear guy in front of me, sorry to had to be witness to my terrible Beyonce moves…actually no I’m not šŸ™‚ I felt amazing after getting done with my workout. Tomorrow I’m hoping to add on 5 more minutes on the treadmill.

I’m trying to set small goals for myself so it doesn’t seem so daunting. First goal – not being an emotional train wreck. I know it’s easier said than done especially when you’re an emotional eater such as myself. Before I reach for those snacks or anything like that I’m going to pray. Pray for strength, clarity, and for God to shove me in the direction HE wants me to go. I’m not saying it’s going to be easy but it’s a start. I’m hoping that by not being an emotional train wreck this will chill out the emotional triggers.

I struggle with triggers. Moods, people, moments, memories it’s very overwhelming sometimes but that’s okay. Another goal of mine this week is to determine what my triggers truly are. Perhaps by identifying them I can overcome it. We’ll see how things go.

